8040 Strawberry Lane
Charlotte, NC 28277
Courier #: 537
P: 980-343-3670  |  F: 980-343-3725 
Principal: Lisa Bailes
LC: Southwest
Bell Schedule: 8:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Grades: 6-8
Email School
Show School Information
School Leadership Team (SLT)

Members of the School Leadership Team (SLT) are directly involved in the development and monitoring of the School Improvement Plan, and as appropriate, some of the day-to-day operations of the school.

The School Leadership Team:

  • Facilitates the development of the School Improvement Plan.
  • Uses data as the driving force to create programmatic instructional change.
  • Monitors, assesses, and amends the School Improvement Plan, as needed.
  • Advances policies and procedures that enhance achievement and meet educational, safety and parent involvement goals.
  • Facilitates communication within the Professional Learning Community.
  • Builds the capacity of the school to address parent and staff concerns.

Meeting Minutes (from 2020-21 schoool year):

Please click HERE for notes form our April 15th SLT Meeting

Please click HERE for notes from our March 15th SLT Meeting

Please click HERE for notes from our February 15th SLT Meeting

Please click here for notes from our January 11th SLT Meeting

Please click here for notes from our October 12th SLT Meeting

 Please click here for notes from our September 21st SLT meeting.

Just a friendly reminder that we will have our first SLT meeting on Monday 09/21. We will start promptly at 4:00 in the Media Center.


School Leadership Team Members

​Committee Position


​Email Address

​Date Elected

PrincipalLisa Baileslisab.bailes@cms.k12.nc.usAugust 17, 2018
Assistant PrincipalTomica Wrighttomica.wright@cms.k12.nc.usAugust 19, 2019
Dean of StudentsCarl Samfordcarl.samford@cms.k12.nc.usAugust 17, 2018
Dean of StudentsKim Youngn.young@cms.k12.nc.usAugust 17, 2018
District Staff
Gina Schoenly

TeacherLaura Georgelauraj.george@cms.k12.nc.usAugust 17, 2018
TeacherBlake Grosswilliamb.gross@cms.k12.nc.usAugust 17, 2018
TeacherTodd Barnhill
August 14, 2020
TeacherStephen Salisbury
August 14, 2020
Katherine Hartter


August 19, 2019
PaentSteven Jensen
May 22. 2020
ParentFrancesca Totty
May 22, 2020
ParentKaren Webb
May 22, 2020
ParentJesse Ryanjesse.ryan@charter.comMay 29, 2019
ParentJill Smithjillsternsmith@gmail.comMay 29, 2019

School Leadership Team Meeting Schedule

Just a friendly reminder that we will have our first SLT meeting on Monday 09/21. We will start promptly at 4:00 in the Media Center.




September 20, 2021


Media Center

October 18, 2021


Media Center

November 15, 2021


Media Center
January 10, 2021
Media Center

February 14, 2021


Media Center

March 14, 2021


Media Center

April 25, 2021


Media Center

May 9, 2021


Media Center

If you have any questions about school policies, procedures or ideas for school improvements, the School Leadership Team (SLT) welcomes your feedback and inquiries.
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230-0035
Phone: 980-343-3000
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools website (www.cms.k12.nc.us) is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any website accessibility concerns may be brought via the following, Email the Web Accessibility Team at WebAccessibility or Call: 980.343.0115. In compliance with Federal Law, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administers all education programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or disability. Inquiries regarding compliance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs or activities, may be referred to the District's Title IX Coordinator at titleixcoordinator or to the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.