Then and Now...
Torrence Creek Elementary is named for the Hugh Torrence Family, the original owners of the property. The Torrences settled in the area prior to the American Revolution. The current historic site is at 8231 Gilead Road.
The Wake Forest University archaeological lab has called this site "one of the finest examples of a Piedmont Plantation in the State." It consists of the Hugh Torrence House and Store (circa the 1770's), which is the "oldest standing store" in North Carolina. Adjacent to it and still used as a private home is the third Torrence house built on the site known as "Cedar Grove." Built in 1831, Cedar Grove is a gem of antebellum architecture with an exquisite three-story spiral staircase at its center.
In addition to the family being an influence on Northern Mecklenburg County for generations, the papers of the Torrence Family have been organized and are on microfilm both at Davidson College and UNC-Charlotte. With personal and business correspondence dating back to the American Revolution, they offer a journal of the daily life of a local family from the beginnings of our nation up to modern times. (Notice that there are several variations on the family surname, which can get very confusing.) The creek beside the school is also named for the Hugh Torrence family, hence - Torrence Creek Elementary School.
Now, Torrence Creek is celebrating their tenth year educating children in Huntersville NC. The staff at Torrence Creek is committed to the parents and children they serve. Creating a positive learning environment where all children can be successful is a priority. In the tenth year Torrence Creek has been chosen to pilot a new school design model while integrating technology and project based learning. Meanwhile fulfilling our mission to prepare well rounded leaders for excellence through academic challenge and character development.