CMS Home Parents Get Involved Schools Careers Board of Education Departments

Click here to Report Bullying Anonymously
Elementary School
200 E. McDowell Street
Matthews, NC 28105
Courier #: 447
P: 980-343-3940  |  F: 980-343-3944 
LC: East Learning Community
Bell Schedule: 7:45 AM - 2:45 PM
Grades: K-5
Email School
Show School Information
School Leadership Team (SLT)

​Matthews School Leadership Team

The School Leadership Team (SLT) is responsible for creating the School Improvement Plan (SIP) and implementing the strategies set forth in the plan. In addition, the SLT develops a process for monitoring the school's progress towards achieving the goals and objectives established in the SIP.

The School Leadership Team is comprised of the principal, staff members, parents and and PTO representatives.

Functions of a School Leadership Team (SLT)

  • Facilitates the involvement of the school community in the development of the School Improvement Plan
  • Encourages, supports and creates opportunities for involvement from parents in the community
  • Contributes to the design of the School Improvement Plan
  • Monitors the effectiveness of the School Improvement Plan strategies

2017-2018 School Leadership Team Members



Jessica Blanchard: 
Lexi Sealey: Principal
Layla Stanley: of Students
Kathleen Nieman: Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Kristen Williams: Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Romana McEwan: Grade Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Indu Minisandram: Grade Teacher/Recorder - elected 8/30/17
Marde Burgess: GradeTeacher - elected 8/30/17
Michele Templeton: Grade Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Michelle Calkin: Grade Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Alex Young: Area Teacher/Time Keeper - elected 8/30/17
Cara Hunter: Parent/ SLT Chair - elected 9/12/16
Sara Mayse: sbmayse@gmail.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Gina Qasim: ginaqasim@yahoo.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Jill Draper: jbaileydraper@gmail.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Jen Snider: jensnider@carolina.rr.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Alicia McArthur: agmcarthur1@yahoo.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Melody Carr: melody.j.carr@gmail.comParent - elected 9/5/17
Jeanette Laughlin: Jlaughlin93@gmail.comParent -elected 9/12/16
Ryan Perry: dukes2411@gmail.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Lauren Meseroll: lcmeseroll@gmail.comParent - elected 9/5/17
Megan Drulard: drulard@windstream.netParent - elected 9/12/16
Alissa Lodahl: alissa.lodahl@yahoo.comParent - elected 9/12/16

Meeting Schedule

9/5/2017 In-person Meeting

10/2/2017 In-person Meeting

11/6/2017 Virtual Meeting

1/8/2018 In-person Meeting

2/5/2018 Virtual Meeting

4/9/2018 In-person Meeting

6/4/2018 In-person Meeting

All in-person meetings are held in the Media Center from 6-7pm

4/9/2018 9:50 AM
1/9/2018 8:03 AM
1/9/2018 8:03 AM
10/10/2017 12:13 PM
10/10/2017 8:49 AM
10/8/2017 6:33 PM
9/8/2017 12:32 PM
Board of Education Superintendent Calendars/Schedules School Safety