CMS Home Parents Get Involved Schools Careers Board of Education Departments

Matthews
Elementary School
200 E. McDowell Street
Matthews, NC 28105
Courier #: 447
P: 980-343-3940  |  F: 980-343-3944 
LC: East Learning Community
Bell Schedule: 7:45 AM - 2:45 PM
Grades: K-5
Email School
Show School Information
School Leadership Team (SLT)

​Matthews School Leadership Team

The School Leadership Team (SLT) is responsible for creating the School Improvement Plan (SIP) and implementing the strategies set forth in the plan. In addition, the SLT develops a process for monitoring the school's progress towards achieving the goals and objectives established in the SIP.

The School Leadership Team is comprised of the principal, staff members, parents and and PTO representatives.

Functions of a School Leadership Team (SLT)

  • Facilitates the involvement of the school community in the development of the School Improvement Plan
  • Encourages, supports and creates opportunities for involvement from parents in the community
  • Contributes to the design of the School Improvement Plan
  • Monitors the effectiveness of the School Improvement Plan strategies

2017-2018 School Leadership Team Members

​NAME / EMAIL

​ROLE / ELECTED DATE

Jessica Blanchard: jessica1.blanchard@cms.k12.nc.usPrincipal 
Lexi Sealey: alexisp.sealey@cms.k12.nc.usAssistant Principal
Layla Stanley: laylaj.stanley@cms.k12.nc.usDean of Students
Kathleen Nieman: kathleen.nieman@cms.k12.nc.usPreK Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Kristen Williams: kristen.williams@cms.k12.nc.usK Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Romana McEwan: romana1.mcewan@cms.k12.nc.us1st Grade Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Indu Minisandram: indu.minisandram@cms.k12.nc.us2nd Grade Teacher/Recorder - elected 8/30/17
Marde Burgess: marde.cusick@cms.k12.nc.us3rd GradeTeacher - elected 8/30/17
Michele Templeton: michelem.templeton@cms.k12.nc.us4th Grade Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Michelle Calkin: michellee.calkin@cms.k12.nc.us5th Grade Teacher - elected 8/30/17
Alex Young: jamesa.young@cms.k12.nc.usSpecial Area Teacher/Time Keeper - elected 8/30/17
Cara Hunter: carawhunter@gmail.com Parent/ SLT Chair - elected 9/12/16
Sara Mayse: sbmayse@gmail.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Gina Qasim: ginaqasim@yahoo.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Jill Draper: jbaileydraper@gmail.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Jen Snider: jensnider@carolina.rr.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Alicia McArthur: agmcarthur1@yahoo.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Melody Carr: melody.j.carr@gmail.comParent - elected 9/5/17
Jeanette Laughlin: Jlaughlin93@gmail.comParent -elected 9/12/16
Ryan Perry: dukes2411@gmail.comParent - elected 9/12/16
Lauren Meseroll: lcmeseroll@gmail.comParent - elected 9/5/17
Megan Drulard: drulard@windstream.netParent - elected 9/12/16
Alissa Lodahl: alissa.lodahl@yahoo.comParent - elected 9/12/16


Meeting Schedule

9/5/2017 In-person Meeting

10/2/2017 In-person Meeting

11/6/2017 Virtual Meeting

1/8/2018 In-person Meeting

2/5/2018 Virtual Meeting

4/9/2018 In-person Meeting

6/4/2018 In-person Meeting

All in-person meetings are held in the Media Center from 6-7pm

  
  
  
10/10/2017 12:13 PM
  
10/10/2017 8:49 AM
  
10/8/2017 6:33 PM
  
9/8/2017 12:32 PM
Board of Education Superintendent Calendars/Schedules School Safety