Fee for Driver Education
The North Carolina General Assembly in its 2011 Appropriations Act (HB 200) has required that each LEA in North Carolina charge each eligible student a fee of up to $45.00 to take an approved course in Driver Education. This new fee collection became law on July 1, 2011.
This $45.00 fee is due on or before the first day of your selected class. You may pay this fee online with a credit card or debit card on a secured site by going to the link below and filling out a short registration form. After paying the fee online, you must print a receipt and take it to the Site Coordinator on your campus or bring it with you on the first day of class. You may also pre-pay by calling Jordan Driving School's office at 704-566-9900 or by visiting their office. You may also pay on the first day of class with cash, certified check, or money order. The certified check or money order must be made payable to Jordan Driving School-Charlotte.
Pay the $45.00 Fee
Jordan Driving School, Inc.
8420 University Executive Park Drive
Charlotte, NC 28262-1346
2011-2012 After School Registration Information
After-School registration is handled on individual campuses by the CMS Driver Education Site Coordinator. You can view a complete list of each Site Coordinator by clicking the Contact Information link to the left. Each student is advised to listen for an announcement made on their campus to direct them to where their school's registration site is located. You may also register for after school classes by going to CMS DriversEd.COM. If you register by clicking this link, you must still contact the Driver Education Site Coordinator at your school. Please note that your registration is not complete until you have made contact with the Site Coordinator on your campus. You cannot register for Winter Break Classes, Spring Break Classes or Summer Classes using this link. Paper forms for these classes are distributed on all high school and middle school campuses. Classes are available to all eligible students who attend public, private, charter, or licensed home-school in Mecklenburg County.
Driving Eligibitily Certificates
A Driving Eligibility Certificate (DEC) is a printed document that is issued by the school principal and/or the principal's designee. The Driving Eligibility Certificate certifies that the student is currently enrolled in school and has demonstrated adequate academic progress toward graduation. According to NCGS20-11(n1), some students are ineligible to receive a Driving Eligibility Certificate. Students expelled, suspended or placed in an alternative educational setting for more than ten (10) consecutive days for possessing or selling alcohol, illegal or controlled substances on school property; bringing, possessing or using a weapon or firearm on school property, pursuant to NCGS 115C-391 (d1); or assaulting any school personnel on school property are ineligible.
The Driving Eligibity Certificate is valid for only 30 days from the date of issue. An updated certificate is necessary after 30 days of receiving the first one. You must follow the same procedure when requesting the udpate as you did when you requested the first one. NOTE: You will only be allowed one certificate per semester and you must be 15 years old to receive this document. Allow 5 to 10 days for processing to receive this certificate after your request is submitted to your school's main office.